Unplug

Yesterday I went the majority of the day without my phone. And let me tell you, it was a little liberating. Granted I was walking around different shopping centers with my mom, but because I didn’t have my iphone it my hand, I wasn’t tempted to push the home button every couple of minutes, just to check to see if I missed a notification.

When we were in the car, I didn’t open my phone, I didn’t check Facebook or instagram – not until later at least. I must have gone close to five hours without looking at my phone.

Don’t get me wrong, I am grateful for phones in general, for the ease of communication. But that didn’t apply to yesterday, because I was with my mom and the only person that would want to get into touch with either of us would be my dad, which my mom had her phone for that possible purpose.

I think it’s a growing problem in the US right now, where people are attached to their phones – texting, “instagramming”, checking Facebook, Twitter, etc. – especially younger generations, who have never experienced the world before the rise of technology. Many people seem to prefer these virtual realities rather than the real one.

I have 268 friends on Facebook. How many do I actually keep in touch with? Under 20 for sure, though not all consistently. It’s been harder since moving back home, to keep in touch with my friends from college – I’m so used to making plans to see them in person, which I can’t do anymore.

I’ve read a few articles and other people talk about “unplugging”, taking the time to stop using certain technologies for a while and immerse themselves in reality, to experience what the world has to offer.

I’m going to try and do this, at least with my phone since I use a computer at work, even if its just for a couple hours a day. I hope others will read this and take the challenge with me. You never what you’re missing if you’re always looking at your phone.

Leave a Reply

